There are a few features we have built into our Under 18 profiles to make sure that teens stay safe while using Clubhouse:
When a teen signs up for Clubhouse, they are automatically opted into having the Private Profile toggle turned on.
What are Private Profiles?
A Private Profile allows you to limit interactions with other users who you haven't added as a friend.
A Private Profile curates your feed to display Chats created by your friends, and Live Rooms created in the Houses you’re a member of. Any chats you create will only be visible to your friends, and only you can invite people to speak in your chats.
In your profile, your friends list, and your Houses will only be visible to your friends.
Head over here to learn more about private profiles.
Teen & Adult User Interactions
- If teens have the “private profile” setting on, Chats they create are sent only to friends, not “friends of friends.” They will only receive replies to their Chats from mutual friends.
- Teens can only send/receive voice messages (VMs) from mutual friends.
When a teen signs up for Clubhouse, they are automatically opted into having adult/mature content restricted from their hallway. We use internal algorithms that we regularly audit to ensure that things don’t get too spicy. If you find mature rooms in your hallway that you think we might have missed, please give us a heads up!