When you archive a Backchannel conversation the message is hidden, not deleted. You can still view them from the Archived Chats section in Backchannel.
To view your Archived Chats:
- Tap the paper airplane icon at the bottom right top open Backchannel.
- Tap the ... at the top of the Backchannel screen.
- Tap View Archived Chats.